Sunday, February 15, 2009

2009 NBA Slam Dunk Contest


Last night was full of great dunks from some of the best leapers in the game (except LeBron James for some reason). Despite the obvious talent, two men stole the show, Dwight Howard and Nate Robinson. These two showed off some of the craziest dunks ever, including Dwight Howard replicating the infamous Dr. J/Michael Jordan free throw line take-off slam. However, Howard only managed to take off with one foot inside the freethrow line. I know, completely unimpressive right? However, in my opinon that wasn't even one of the top two dunks of the night. The from the 5'7" Nate Robinson came when he jumped over the 6'11" Dwight Howard and threw it down. And for Howard, his best of the night came when he rolled out a 12 foot hoop, donned the Superman cape, and dunked it with seemingful ease. I think he could have gone to 14 and done a 360, but maybe that's for next year. When it came down to the voting, 52% of people all aound the world (including me) voted for Nate Robinson. KryptoNATE won the contest over Superman. Have an opinion on the result? Tell us what you think in the poll on the sidebar.

In case you missed it, here are some highlights:


Sunday, February 1, 2009

Zebras Screw Cardinals




Many football fans expected the Pittsburgh Steelers to not only win Super Bowl XLIII but to dominate it. However, the Arizona Cardinals gave them a run for their money, as the game was not over until the very end. An end that I must say, was not a terrible call by the game officials. As the the ball was knocked out of the hands of Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner with 9 seconds on the clock, the officials ruled it a fumble and awarded the ball to the Steelers. When the replay was showed, however, it was clear to me that the arm of Kurt Warner was moving forward as the ball was knocked out (not to mention the ball went five yards down field). By rule, the arm moving forward with the ball would deem the play an incomplete pass and the Cardinals would have the ball on the Steeler 29 yard-line (do to the unsportsman-like conduct on the Steelers after the play) with 8 seconds to play. This would allow for plenty of time to run at least one or maybe even two plays. It is not the poor call that upsets me most, however. Instead, it is the negligent amount of time taken to review the play. The referees should have stopped the game, given the replay booth as much time as needed to get the call right, and then decide whose ball it is. I mean this is the Super Bowl after all! But no, the refs and the guys upstairs decided that it was already past their bedtimes and they wanted to make it home because they were having Dominoes pizza. In no time flat the Steelers were up at the line, taking a knee, and ending the game. Now I'm not saying that the Cardinals would have won anyway, but now we're not even going to find out are we? It just doesn't seem right than the guys in stripes decided the Super Bowl.